This Osprey came out of nowhere to eyeball me.

This Osprey came out of nowhere to eyeball me.

How cool is that? I dropped by my usual haunt down by the Intracoastal Waterway this morning with my camera and 100-400 zoom lens to see what I could see. The tide was pretty low so I was able to walk north along the shoreline and past all the cool trees that lay out over the water. This is where a lot of different birds like to roost. I sometimes take them by surprise, which was the case with this poor Great Blue Heron, I think that’s what this bird is, although I thought they were more gray than this bird. Anyway, at his expense, I was able to get these two shots of him or her, in flight.

This is the Heron I scared to death, he was big!

This is the Heron I scared to death, he was big!

The same Heron a little further away.

The same Heron a little further away.

I walked along the shoreline, then in the water when I had to go around the big branches that hang over and block my way. I saw several birds in flight and got some shots, but they were too far off. On my way back, I looked up at the branch above my head, the one the Osprey usually gets, just to check for her, and I came across this Ibis. The angle made it a fun shot. I’ve never really been UNDER an Ibis before!

A view from under the Ibis.

A view from under the Ibis.

I decided to go and sit on the rocks to just watch nature go by. Next thing you know the entire branch I just shot the Ibis on, has a bunch more Ibis perched on it. I got some shots of them, they looked kind of artsy just sitting around on that branch. I decided to go in closer on the Ibis and walked out to the giant dead tree branch by the canal to prop the lens on, and shoot some more. I stopped shooting for a second, and just looked. All of a sudden, and I mean that, the Osprey arrived, she was stealth, she was just hanging out a few “floors” down on the same branch as the Ibis! I was so excited, she was right there. Looking at me. Close! I used the branch as a pseudo tripod and took about 20 shots of her, and I am telling you, she posed. These birds know I love them and they show off! I was not able to get any closer though. She wasn’t havin’ it!

Tah-dah! The Osprey finally came to look for me.

Tah-dah! The Osprey finally came to look for me.

Here's a photograph of her other side. She WAS posing.

Here's a photograph of her other side. She WAS posing.

I checked back in on the area tonight at around 5 PM. No birds, just people fishing, and only the Catfish were biting for them. The light was beautiful though. I wish I’d had my camera so I could show you the pink streaks shooting up from the eastern horizon as the sun set in the west. Next time.

Oh I promised to do a post on HDR photography, I took some shots for HDR images today. I’ll process them and post them tomorrow. Here’s a shot of one of the locations that I used to shoot for the HDR photos. It was contrasty. Wait until you see how it looks after HDR processing.

This location is I chose to capture the shots for the HDR image.

This location I chose to capture the shots for the HDR image.

